The Imaginative Buyer: A Case Study

I first met Erin a little over a year ago. She lives in my neighborhood and moved to town a couple months before I did in 2021. When I met her, she told me where she lived and I immediately remember the listing when the house was on the market. It was a true blank canvas. Not much to look at, but it held tremendous potential. It still surprises me to this day, 3 years into this career, how so many clients and professionals struggle to see the hopeful potential in a home. Erin is not one of these people. Fast forward a few months later when we were on a school committee together planning the school dance. Erin had a few of us over to her house for a planning session and I was blown away when she took me on the tour. She and her husband Brad completely transformed this house in a short period of time. Erin was very gracious in allowing Jonathan and me into her home to take photographs to use it as a case study for this blog.

Slide the bar left/right to see a before and after of the exterior

If you live in Fort Thomas and drive down the main road into the north side of town regularly, you know the house transformation I’m speaking of. The yellow brick home that transformed into the beautiful white home overnight! Erin and Brad used Life by Design Painting and were so pleased with the result.

The interior of the home is nothing short of swoon-worthy. I have mentioned in my blog posts before and this is a perfect example of what a difference changing a light fixture can make in a space. The simple change of the light fixture, painting the fireplace, removing the mirror, adding drapes, and adding a large area rug created a stunning change from a cold space to a warm and inviting one.

Before
After

Erin and Brad did make some more significant changes to other parts of their home. They reconfigured the kitchen to increase functionality, upgraded and added cabinetry, installed new countertops, and added backsplash tile:

Before
After- I love a good pop of wallpaper

On the second floor, they renovated and reconfigured the hallway bathroom, removed a hall closet, and added a second bathroom to make an en suite to the primary bedroom:

Before
After- Hallway 2nd floor bathroom
After- En suite bathroom

Back to the main floor-painting the dining room *ceiling*, changing the light fixture, replacing the blinds, and adding an area rug took a boring space up a thousand notches to a warm, moody, and inviting space to dine.

Slide the bar left/right to see a before and after

When I walked through their home back in the winter I got really excited. I get really jazzed when I meet someone with creative vision. The homes in Fort Thomas are often put on the market after an owner has lived in it for 30+ years. It is really beneficial if you are a buyer looking at older homes to understand that small changes and updates can go a really long way. Of course you can take down walls and choose to have larger renovation projects. Sometimes it is necessary and extremely helpful to the function of a home, like on the second floor of Erin and Brad’s home or in the kitchen. But painting, changing light fixtures, and adding rugs can make a big impact in transforming a space.

Below is a full image gallery of this spectacular home:

https://j-glophotography.pixieset.com/memorialaveblog/

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started